Click It Or Ticket / Golf Carts
Texas Seatbelt Laws
Texas Transportation Code 545.412 Child Passenger Safety Seat Systems; Offense
(a) A person commits an offense if the person operates a passenger vehicle, transports a child who is younger than 8 unless
the child is taller than four feet, nine inches and does not keep the child secured during the operation of the vehicle in a
child passenger safety seat system according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system.
(b) An Offense under this section is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500.
Texas Transportation Code 545.413 Safety Belts; Offense
(1) A person commits an offense if the person:
a. Is at least 15 years of age;
b. Is riding in a passenger vehicle while the vehicle is being operated;
c. Is occupying a seat that is equipped with a safety belt; and
d. Is not secured by a safety belt.
(2) A person commits an offense if the person:
a. Operates a passenger vehicle that is equipped with safety belts;
b. Allows a child younger than 17 and who is not required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat;
c. To ride in the vehicle without requiring the child to be secured in a safety belt.
(3) An Offense under this section is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500.
Texas Transportation Code “Rules of the Road,” specifically regulates the operation of golf carts.
Texas Transportation Code Chapter 551 defines “golf cart” as “a motor vehicle designed by the manufacturer primarily for use on a golf course.” TEX. TRANSP. CODE § 551.401 (emphasis added).
Section 551.403 authorizes operation of golf carts in certain locations:
An operator may operate a golf cart:
(1) in a master planned community:
(A) that has in place a uniform set of restrictive covenants; and
(B) for which a county or municipality has approved a plat;
(2) on a public or private beach that is open to vehicular traffic; or
(3) on a highway for which the posted speed limit is not more than 35 miles per hour, if the golf cart is operated:
(A) during the daytime; and
(B) not more than two miles from the location where the golf cart is usually parked and for transportation to or from a golf course.
Additionally, municipalities and counties in some parts of the State may authorize the operation of a golf cart on certain highways:
(a) In addition to the operation authorized by Section 551.403, the governing body of a municipality may allow an operator to operate a golf cart on all or part of a highway that:
(1) is in the corporate boundaries of the municipality; and
(2) has a posted speed limit of not more than 35 miles per hour.
(b) In addition to the operation authorized by Section 551.403, the commissioners court of a county [as described] may allow an operator to operate a golf cart on all or part of a highway that:
(1) is located in the unincorporated area of the county; and
(2) has a speed limit of not more than 35 miles per hour
No statute exempts the operator of a golf cart under chapter 551 from the license-holding requirement of section 521.021. Section 521.021 of the Transportation Code requires a person to hold a driver’s license to operate a golf cart on a publicly maintained way open to the public for vehicular traffic.